GMN JazzPlus
Standard View

National Trumpet Competition Held

There was plenty to celebrate as the National Trumpet Competition observed its tenth anniversary from March 14-17 at George Mason University (GMU). Approximately 155 soloists and ensembles from throughout the United States and Canada were selected by audition tape to compete in seven Classical and Jazz Divisions.

A distinguished roster of Artist Faculty and renowned trumpet players from the worlds of classical and jazz music participated. John Hagstrom of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and renowned classical/jazz soloist Vince DiMartino were the guest soloists on Saturday, March 16, at 3:00 PM in GMU’s Center for the Performing Arts. Hagstrom presented a Master Class afterwards.

On Sunday, March 17, at 2:00 PM, in the Center for the Performing Arts, the Carnegie Hall Jazz Band, led by Jon Faddis, presented a concert immediately after the NTC Awards Ceremony. Faddis also led a jam session with NTC competitors on Saturday evening from 8:00 to 9:30 in GMU’s Harris Theater.

The National Trumpet Competition (NTC) is the largest competitive event for young trumpet players in the world. The NTC was founded in 1992 by Dr. Dennis Edelbrock, adjunct professor of music at George Mason University and a veteran member of the U.S. Army Band. Edelbrock realized that his students – especially those preparing for performance careers – did not have opportunities to compete before their peers or be heard by professionals in a national setting. Yet these activities were commonplace for piano and string students.

Professional trumpet players from leading symphony orchestras and the worlds of jazz and film also saw the need for a national performance forum and readily signed on as guest artists.

They have included the Boston Brass, The Canadian Brass, Vince DiMartino, Steve Hendrickson (National Symphony Orchestra), Tim Morrison (formerly with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, now a Hollywood film soloist), Phil Smith (New York Philharmonic), James Thompson (Atlanta Symphony Orchestra), and jazz greats such as Arturo Sandoval, Maynard Ferguson, Jeff Jarvis, Ryan Kisor, Byron Stripling, and Marvin Stamm. Ensembles representing all the branches of the U.S. Armed Services Bands have performed with these artists. College/conservatory professors serve on the Artist Faculty as teachers, adjudicators, and performers. This year’s Artist Faculty roster represents 39 colleges, universities, and conservatories in the United States and Canada. In response to the support from the professional community, students applied to all division levels. Four original competitive divisions (junior high, senior high, college undergraduate solo and college jazz solo) have grown to seven and now include the Masters Division for graduate students (solo performance), a Trumpet Ensemble Division for ages 11-18, and an advanced Trumpet Ensemble Division for ages 18-28. All seven divisions are intensely competitive; even High School Division students travel thousands of miles to play at the NTC.

The four-day series of events at GMU includes several workshops and master classes. All participants can sign up for a free lesson with a member of the artist faculty – even students who auditioned but were not accepted to compete in the 2002 NTC are welcome to sign up for a lesson. At the Exhibitors Hall, representatives of all the major brass instrument and brass equipment manufacturers displayed their instrument lines and the latest technology available to brass players.

Tue Mar 26 2002 (4:47:29 PM)